Tags

One of the things which was bothering me about the event was what to eat. I’d have to eat something, or somethings, which could be easily transported to and stored at the venue without refrigeration. With no cooking facilities the only option for warm food would be anything you could add hot water to, as there was a constant supply of hot water, thanks to the lovely volunteers. A number of friends were going for sandwiches, pies, pot noodles, pasta pots and instant porridge, all of which had a few drawbacks as far as I’m concerned.

For a start, I don’t eat meat, and recently, after years of being privately a bit scornful of people who claim to be “gluten-intolerant” when they’re nothing of the sort* I am now laughing on the other side of my face, having discovered that I’m “gluten intolerant” myself in that eating gluten makes me sleepy and upsets my digestion in ways which had been going on for so long that I’d assumed it was normal for me. (Don’t get me wrong, I still mainline toast – I just eat it in the evenings. Job done!) Given that I would be wanting to stay awake for twenty four hours and then drive home, anything with gluten was out. And while instant porridge would seem to be the obvious substitute, I’m not really a big fan of sweet stuff, and the thought of living for a whole day on plain porridge – well, I didn’t really want to end up Scottish. What, oh what to eat? 

*I should add that I don’t include in this people who are genuinely gluten intolerant, of which there are a few amongst my friends. These people genuinely can’t eat gluten and they don’t make a big fuss about it, they just don’t eat gluten. I mean the sort of person who has “given up gluten” because it makes them “bloated and sluggish” and then it becomes a really big deal every time there’s food in the offing. Just eat the bloody cake if you want it. Being a bit sleepy won’t kill you, unless you’re driving or operating heavy machinery, in which case, don’t eat the cake. Sheesh! 

More tomorrow.