Tags

“It’s all your fault anyway.” So where does this crop up in discussions about equality?  We’ve already seen it in arguments regarding equal pay, where a version of it appears to justify women being paid less than men, namely, that women “pick lower paid jobs.” I don’t think that’s the case. I think that jobs done by mainly by women are paid less because society regards women as less valuable and less  deserving of reward than men. This is particularly the case when those jobs are “caring” jobs such as nursing, teaching, and social work, because society thinks that women should be carers and should do these jobs for next to nothing, provided they get a sweet little Faux-Inspirator* every now and again.
*Actually I’ve changed my mind. I’m not going to call them Faux-Inspirators. I’m going to call them Faux-Approbators, which abbreviates to FA. Thus, a sweet little Faux-Approbator becomes sweet FA.

And where else do we see this idea that women are to blame for their own predicament? Why, in articles about equal pay, of course. I mentioned that Facebook has got a bit better about spotting what I like and is now serving me up lots of articles about women’s equality. These are thought-provoking, as not all of them are written from the point of view that the failure of society to reward women equally with men for work done is down to society. Indeed, a number of them are written to make the argument that it is all down to women (aka It’s All Your Fault Anyway).  One I read recently trotted out the usual reasons for women earning less (choose lower paid jobs, don’t go for senior positions, “take time off”, ho ho, to have children, etc etc).

However, the author of this particular piece was clever enough to spot that a number of people (moi included, although I doubt very much that she has read this blog) have argued that these are not the winning points they were previously believed to be, since, to quote Monty Python, “It’s a fair cop, but society is to blame.” But never fear, for this columnist had an answer to this argument.

More tomorrow.