Tags

Another glaring similarity between expecting women to reduce the incidence of rape, an activity carries out mainly by men, and expecting women to reduce the level of gender discrimination in the workplace, an activity carried out largely, though by no means exclusively, by men, is the nice way it absolves the perpetrators of both of these activities both of any responsibility for their own behaviour and of any need to change it.  Ah, the good old “I couldn’t help it” excuse. 

This has recently morphed in the case of rape from “I was overwhelmed by passion, officer, she aroused my manly lusts and I couldn’t control them” to “I thought she wanted to, officer, she got herself incapably drunk and I was unable to distinguish between that and her wanting to have sex with me”. And in the case of the workplace “I couldn’t help it” shows up as “I’d love to make that change you’re suggesting, but it’s just too difficult”.

Yes, just as there are apparently men who are totally capable of living full and normal lives unsupervised in the community and yet can’t tell the difference between a woman who is gagging for it and a woman who has drunk two bottles of white wine and is passed out in a heap, there are also companies which are similarly afflicted. These are the companies which are apparently totally capable of running quite big and complex organisations over a number of continents incorporating some fairly sophisticated supply chains, of moving parts of their operations around the world at barely a moment’s notice, of outsourcing whole big chunks of their processes to countries the other side of the world yet claim that ensuring that thirty percent of the people on their main board don’t have testicles is JUST TOO CHALLENGING!

Harrumph! More tomorrow.