Tags

Change can be, indeed, hard, and daunting,  and scary. (I was getting on the tube after I wrote that last word, with my phone in my hand, and WordPress rendered it as “scaryroo”, which seems to me to be quite a good word for the state which comes upon us when change is mooted: we get scaryrooed. I know I do. But I digress.) However scaryrooing change is, companies, organisations and employers have no problem with the introduction of change which they perceive to be good for themselves.

Introduce machines to massively change the working and living conditions of hundreds of thousands of people (the Industrial Revolution)? No problem! Outsource large parts of the organisation (and, indeed, in the case of Great Britain, the economy) to the developing world? Absolutely! Dismantle the model of long-term secure employment and replace with a zero-hours minimum wage culture? Yes, indeedy! Funny how these changes, and a lot of others, happen with no resistance at all from the C-Suite and yet make the suggestion that they might want to make some fairly minor changes to support them in sharing said suite with some girlies and it brings on a right old attack of the vapours.

But this is, as I say, bullshit. We can make enormous and far-reaching changes to our working model if we want. Indeed, we can do so over extraordinarily short periods of time with no problem at all. I’ve cited some instances of huge change above, but perhaps the largest experiment in sudden, massive and far-reaching workplace change was run in this country over a period of about seven years in the middle of the last century. I refer, of course, to the Second World War.

More tomorrow.