Tags

Hopefully it will be fairly obvious from the exchange in yesterday’s post that the problem with accepting my friend’s Saturday night invitation wasn’t so much whether or not it was a nice thing to do. The problem was that it was stopping me doing what I really needed to do, namely,  get some down time. It wasn’t the event itself that was the problem so much as what the event was depriving me of. I can entirely understand why my therapist took the approach he did; he was trying to get me to concentrate on the nice things about it as a social event, rather than on what it would be be stopping me doing ie relaxing. It wasn’t effective, though, because he couldn’t make me as an introvert welcome an energy-sapping social event when I needed some energy-creating me-time, any more than you can start wanting a slice of cake instead of a cold drink when you’re really thirsty.

More tomorrow.