Tags

Bit of a New Year’s post today. First, things I am grateful for, number 7, this blog
Because I am grateful for this blog, and for the fact that I have managed to write a post every day for 323 days. I started it to see if I could make time to write every day, and I can, but a lot of other things have come out of it. I’ve learned quite a lot about myself through the writing, and I’ve also apparently got a readership, something which I am amazed and grateful for. Having people who actually read what I write and say they enjoy it is lovely, and a real bonus. And I enjoy it too, much, much more than I ever thought I would, and I’m very grateful for that.

WordPress kindly sent me a report on my stats for the year which was fascinating. People (or at least, computers) from 135 countries viewed my blog during the year – that’s an amazing amount of countries, or it seems so to me. It was viewed 5,400 times, with the most views coming on December 17th when I was writing about background music. This I believe goes to show two things: first, you can never predict what will interest people, and second, that a lot of people out there are apparently pissed off by background music. I posted 323 new posts, and, weirdly, posted more on Monday than any other day. Go me! And also, lovely readers, go you!

And now, to finish on a different topic, Auld Lang Syne. I was going to do a brief New Year edition of Things I Should Be More Zen About about Auld Lang Syne. I have long been under the impression that it means Old Times’ Sake, and therefore it makes no sense to sing “for the sake of auld lang syne”, because this is tantamount to singing “for the sake of old time’s sake”, and I was going to have a little rant about this.  However, my trusty research assistant Mr Google has just advised me that in fact Auld Lang Syne may be best translated as “days long since”. So, whilst they are not, admittedly, the words of Rabbie Burns, it does make perfect sense to sing “for the sake of days long since” in the context of bidding farewell to the old year in the company of friends and loved ones. It makes no sense at all to sing it, as it usually is sung, at parties and public gatherings whilst clasping hands with total strangers and people you’ve only known for five minutes because you happened to be standing next to them at midnight. Still, there you are, can’t have everything.

For the sake of auld lang syne and also for the sake of the days to come, a very happy, peaceful and loving 2015 to all of us!