Tags

,

The method I’ve always used in planning my career, and, indeed, a number of other things, is what I might call “the sniff test”. This pretty much means paying attention to that little inner voice, particularly when it tells me that something might be going on that needs attention, or that might be interesting. I envisage myself going along, sniffing the air every so often, and occasionally a bit of something that smells interesting will drift across my path. Just a whiff, but something that smells intriguing, and causes me to head off into the underbrush, sniffing around for whatever it was that caught my attention. It’s another  way of referring to the inner voice, which is itself a metaphor for intuition, which is a metaphor for getting in touch with a particular part or version of myself, and it’s rarely wrong.

More tomorrow.